DECEMBER & JANUARY MANENOS…

 

So during the festive season I tried my level best to eat healthy and avoid the January blues of weight gain. I kept to my diet, didn’t eat anything out of the ordinary, I increased my water intake, increased intake of green tea, I kept my food boiled and tried my level best to stay away from rice, posho/pap.  Although I must say I got a bit lazy on the working out front, I could count the times I actually worked out on my fingers. This laziness was made worse by the fact that I had started getting the “You are losing too much weight, STOP it” comments. A couple of my friends were worried that my curves were disappearing and they were not sure if I would look good without my signature curves.  So I let myself go a bit, I could tell my body wasn’t happy with all the drama of me not working out.

I started feeling the effects soon enough, suddenly I wasn’t as flexible anymore ( I am not sure if this was real or imagined though). Then I started getting paranoid with the food I ate (I swear I feel this is one of the ways people develop eating disorders) I was afraid to eat any comfort food because I wasn’t sure my body would be able to break it down in time. Calories became my worst fear, I would obsess about how many calories I am consuming, obsess about what calories were contained in whatever I consumed. This unhealthy downward spiral was because I wasn’t working out, and although I knew this; there was nothing much I could do about it. I kept on telling myself, you have January, so relax for now and go crazy in January.

In came January, I was hyped and looking forward to resuming my workout routine then my family plans a road trip to western Uganda (Story for another day, it was an amazing trip…). Even with all the excitement I had told my body to behave, no craving junk  and I was only going to feed it healthy food, I thought “well, the healthy food will not increase my weight” all these were LIES LIES LIES LIES. Much as I ate healthy, in the villages people don’t cook unhealthy food, yes it was all fresh from the garden, the chicken and goats were freshly slaughtered so I was all good to go. I ate and had a blast with the food (I can never say no to Matooke (banana plantain) especially the steamed one, and who walks away from local chicken its taste is far superior to the broilers we are fed in Kampala then of course there was the goat meat, initially I wasn’t a fan until when I tasted well prepared goat meat both roasted and boiled.)  We were gone for the weekend and when I came back, all the food I had eaten manifested on my tummy.

The people, who were once complaining about my rapid weight loss, were now complaining about how big my tummy had got over the past few days (goes to show, that you shouldn’t pay too much attention to what people say, it’s hard to please them). As my festive season comes to an end officially I am getting back to working out like my life depends on it, and of course I will keep you updated.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑